Thoughts for Today

I’ve been a bit quiet lately, between prepping for the holidays, writing and editing only the necessary promo wins out. I know I should have a post on this blog every few days, but goodness. Sometimes it gets tedious. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy sharing my thoughts and opinions.

There has been a recurring theme I’ve seen with companies. It’s like they do everything they can to court you and once you’ve signed on the dotted line they peel away the makeup and you’re left with a pale imitation of what should’ve been. When I worked in a call center as a customer service rep, we were taught to under promise and over deliver. That way if the situation took longer than expected the company and customer were still satisfied. We were taught communication. I have to tell you, this is my biggest pet peeve with companies.

Both  I and my sister are dealing with companies that believe avoidance is the best way to communicate. Where a simple email, text, or gasp phone call with diffuse our frustration very nicely. A simple, “We need to postpone,” or “Let’s try this a different way,” would go a long way into curbing the resentment we currently have for these companies.

Follow through. Yeah we were taught that too. Did you check to make sure what you said was going to happen, happen? Or did you just say, “I started the ball rolling, that’s enough.”

Many of the above reasons are why I do things myself, why I only rely on a few trusted individuals and stay loyal to a few choice brands. These companies and individuals have stood the test of time and delivered on their promises. And for those that haven’t…I’m counting the days until I can evict them from my life. I can do bad all by myself.

Until next time, Indulge Your Inner Romantic

Leave a Reply

